90daysindc

Just another WordPress.com site

3 Special Places- Tom the Tiger

on March 19, 2012

Hey Kids! It’s Tom the Tiger! I wanted to send you a few fun pictures and tell you about 3 special places I got to go to this weekend. First of all, here is a picture of what it looks like when I travel with Mrs. Sarah.

Image

We took that picture while waiting for the Metro, or the underground train. I have my own backpack that I ride in and Mrs. Sarah carries me around everywhere. Its so fun! This past week we went to see three of Washington DC’s most popular monuments.  The word monument is just another way to say that a building or place is special for some reason.  Most of the places in Washington DC are special because they are a part of history.  The first place we went to see was the Washington Monument. It was so tall that I had to sit on Mrs. Sarah’s head to see the top! This monument is special because it was built to honor the first president of the United States. His name was George Washington.  I wanted to go inside the big monument but Mrs. Sarah said it was no longer safe because of an earthquake that made some of the pieces of the building fall off.  So we stayed safely on the ground!

Image

Image

The next building we saw is called “the Castle”.  Its part of the Smithsonian Museums and it has a giant map of Washington DC inside. It was so big, we couldn’t even take a picture of it! This is what the castle looks like.

Image

The last place we went was the biggest and best of the day. It was the White House! This is the house that the President of the United States lives in.  We couldn’t get very close because the house is surrounded by guards that are part of something called the Secret Service. The Secret Service are special policemen whose only responsibility is to protect the President.  They do a great job! This is as close as we could get to the house.

Image

I am looking forward to this next week because Mrs. Sarah is going to take me to a tower where you can see the whole city from the top! I am looking forward to it.  Well, I have to go, its dinnertime here and I am hungry!  I will talk to you all soon! Have a great week!

2 responses to “3 Special Places- Tom the Tiger

  1. Miss Deborah's Class says:

    Hi Mrs. Sarah we have a few questions for you and Tom:
    Ayden wants to know many police were protecting the White House and how big the towers were.
    Riley wants to know if Washington is bigger than Collierville.
    Grayson wants to know how long you ride on the train.
    Jamie wants to know what color the policeman’s clothes were.

  2. 90daysindc says:

    Riley- Washington is much bigger than Collierville. The city is at least 10 times the size of Collierville. It’s huge!
    Ayden- There are 50 men and women of the Secret Service that protect the White House.
    Grayson- I usually ride on the train for about 20 to 30 minutes a day, depending on where I am going.
    Jamie- I am not sure what color the policemen wear but i promise to find out! Look for the answer in our next post!

Leave a Reply

