90daysindc

Just another WordPress.com site

My FIrst Museum-Tom the Tiger

on March 13, 2012

Hey Kids! I hope you are having a great week, because I know I am!  I am enjoying my time here in Washington DC. I got to ride on the Metro for the first time on Saturday.  The Metro is a big train that runs underground all around Washington DC.  It looks like this:

Image

Image

The trains go so fast that they make the air whoosh past your face! This is what it looks like when a train comes into the station:

Image

This past weekend Mrs. Sarah and I went to the National Museum of American History, which is part of the Smithsonian Institute.  There are so many museums in the Smithsonian Institute that we only had time to go to one.  We got to see so much there!  It was my first time to visit a museum and I was so excited. Mrs. Sarah had to remind me that I could look at everything but I was not allowed to touch anything. Apparently these are the rules in every museum.  I saw so many things.  We saw something called the Star Spangled Banner. Mrs. Sarah told me that it is the flag that inspired our national anthem.  (Ask Ms. Deborah what that is!) I also got to see uniforms from all kinds of different soldiers from different wars.  My favorite thing that I saw was this: Image

These are the original Muppets that Jim Henson made.  I got to meet Kermit the Frog’s Grandpa! Image

That’s him, the fuzzy green one!

I hope that Mrs. Sarah and I get to go to some more museums soon.  I really liked the American History Museum.  Well it is almost time for my nap, so I have to go.  Remember, if you have nay questions, just tell Ms. Deborah and she will tell them to us and we will answer them.  I hope you all have a great day! 

Tom the Tiger and Mrs. Sarah

Leave a Reply

